the unification of germany
The unification of Germany came on 3rd October 1990 .
Yalta Conference
Allied leaders meet at Yalta and Potsdam conference, to discuss the future of Germany and the rest of Europe .
Germany reconstruction
Germany was left devastated after world war 2 and the allies invested hundreds of millions reconstructing Germany.
Modern Germany
Germany has become a leading power within the Europe / World.

Mikhail Gorbachev - USSR
Mikhail Gorbachev was instrumental in the fall of the Berlin wall and the end of the cold war.

Berlin wall built
"The Anti Fascist Protection Barrier".

the berlin wall
The Berlin wall was used as a canvas for many artists.

Warsaw Pact

Warsaw Pact The Warsaw Pact is the short name for the agreement "Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation and Mutual Assistance" military alliance of communist countries in Europe. The Warsaw Pact treaty was signed in 1955 and included Poland, Albania, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Bulgaria, Romania and the Soviet Union, the treaty was signed in Warsaw, Poland. With the dissolution of the Eastern Bloc and the Alliance was dissolved in 1991.

Under the military alliance of the Warsaw Pact, which was founded on 14/05/1955 by the eight countries of the "Warsaw Pact" under the leadership of the Soviet Union. The full text is the "Warsaw Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation and Mutual Assistance". The pact was defined as a regional defense alliance which existed between Albania, Bulgaria, East Germany, Poland, Romania, the Soviet Union, Czechoslovakia and Hungary. The Member States were officially on an equal footing, but were under Soviet military high command. The management and coordination was the task of the day, the annual "Political Consultative Committee" (PBA).

The governing bodies, the Foreign Ministers and the Secretaries-General of the Socialist or Communist parties of the member countries met in Poland to discuss the agreement.

The Warsaw Pact was created as a counter-alliance to NATO , the Warsaw Pact was created during the cold war and was regarded as a counterpart of the "Eastern bloc" to the North Atlantic Treaty of the West, NATO that was founded in 1949 under US leadership. An important reason for its establishment was the entry into force of the Treaty of Paris on 05/05/1955. They were closed despite the protests of the Soviet Union and allowed the Federal Republic to join on 09.05.1955 NATO and set up its own army. This contradicted the intentions of the Soviet Union, which turned against German rearmament.

In January 1956, the GDR reacted with the construction of the National People's Army. Second occasion was the signing of the Austrian State Treaty on 15.5.1955 between the four Allies and the Austrian government. The contract governed Austria's sovereignty as a neutral state and the withdrawal of allied troops. The Soviet Union had managed the largest of the four occupation zones and still possessed troops in Romania and Hungary. As they served the security of supply routes to Austria according to the official reasoning, one would be necessary to remove.

The Warsaw Pact created in this situation, a basis for further stationing of Soviet troops in the States Parties with the domination of the Soviet Union via these countries. In addition, the Pact military intervention of the Soviet Union as in Hungary, which wanted to withdraw from the pact during the Hungarian uprising in 1956 allowed occupation of Czechoslovakia on 21.8.1968 it came to the invasion of Warsaw Pact troops in Czechoslovakia because of the Prague Spring.

The Brezhnev Doctrine, however justified the invasion with the following words: "The sovereignty of the individual states finds its limit in the interests of the socialist community". It was announced by the General Secretary of the CPSU Leonid Brezhnev in Poland on 11.12.1968. In subsequent years, the Warsaw Pact was significant because of the dispute over the deployment of mobile nuclear medium-range missiles of the Soviet Union. Only in 1991 the Warsaw Pact collapsed when the Soviet Union was dissolved.